top of page

A letter to those who battle depression

Dear Depressed,


How have you been doing?

Well, I think I probably know the answer.

You see... I woke up today to the horrific silence of lovelessness...

I’ve had it with a life that has no purpose other than day-to-day existence.

To go to sleep and hope to wake up happy has become too usual.

Last week I went to the doctor.

“I need you to send me to a psychologist!”

I cried before her.

My partner says I cry too much.

He’s got everything he could ever wish for. Why should he ever feel like I do?


You know... I’ve spent most of my life waiting. I’ve waited for love, for acceptance, for God, for my will to conquer my demons to return.


I think I was, in fact, waiting for myself.

encourage.jpg

I’m telling you this because I need you to regroup.

It may sound like a lie, but everything will turn out for the best.

I want you to fight yourself. I want you to be happy, because you deserve it. I want you to love yourself more than you’ve ever loved anybody else.

You have to compensate emotionally for everything that you’ve ever longed for and never received.

If your depression has anything to do with the dreams you could never fulfill, know that you must work a bit harder. Know that nothing lands in your life purposelessly. Take it one day at a time, and you will find a way. Just... Don’t give up!

If your depression has something to do with your incapability to find a person to love and understand you, know that you are not defined by the attention and love of others. On the contrary, this only defines you when you allow dejectedness to burden you to the point of desperation.

If your depression relates to poverty, rejoice for your physical health and preserve it before your depression weakens your body.

And, if you feel like you want to die, live!

Much love,

R.D.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page